Thought conveyance portal.

The Davinci Load copied from PVPonline.com

The Davinci Load
Posted on Thursday, May 18, 2006

I know that I’ve been very critical of fundamental Christian beliefs on this website in the past. But today I’m actually going to defend Christians.

I enjoy making a joke at the expense of the close-minded, but I think that a majority of people in this country with religious beliefs are getting a bad rap because the media only reports the most sensationalized reactions of a smaller vocal group. Not all Christians feel threatened by the Davinci Code. Their set of personal beliefs are not threatened by a fictional thriller. I believe that. I really do.

I’m not 100% certain how I feel about God and Jesus anymore. I have my doubts. And I remain skeptical of organized religion. But I have to believe that the majority of Christians, Buddhists, Jews, Muslims, Hindus, etc…are quietly and sanely spiritual. That they are not reactionary zealots whose world crumbles at the drop of a hat.

I can’t prove it, but I believe in it. So, if I have to have faith in something, I want to have faith in that.

The Davinci Code is not revisionist history any more than Star Wars is. It’s a fictional thriller. It’s a novel. Fiction. The very word FICTION defines it as NOT BEING TRUE.

What are these religious leaders so afraid of? Is it so bad to think that Jesus might have had a wife and a family? If there were documented proof of that, would it be so bad? Would it mean you couldn’t believe in the teachings of Jesus anymore?

Good fiction makes you think. And thinking is never bad. There’s nothing to be afraid of, even if you’re a religious person. And what good is your faith if it can’t stand up to being challenged from time to time? It’s safe for Christians to read the book. It’s just a story.

But most Christians already know this. I have faith.

I have faith too!  Thank you Lord for leading me to find this and thank you Andrew for listening and giving me the address.  The Lord works in mysterious ways!
Theresa
Leave a Reply

