Thought conveyance portal.

When I say I’m a Christian

"I feel as if Jesus Christ died only yesterday."
– Martin Luther –


 

Christians


By Maya Angelou

 

  

When I say… "I am a Christian"  

I’m not shouting "I’m clean livin’."  

I’m whispering "I was lost,  

Now I’m found and forgiven." 

  

When I say… "I am a Christian"  

I don’t speak of this with pride.  

I’m confessing that I stumble  

And need Christ to be my guide. 

  

When I say… "I am a Christian"  

I’m not trying to be strong.  

I’m professing that I’m weak  

And need His strength to carry on. 

  

When I say. "I am a Christian"  

I’m not bragging of success.   

I’m admitting I have failed  

And need God to clean my mess.  

  

When I say… "I am a Christian"

I’m not claiming to be perfect,  

My flaws are far too visible  

But, God believes I am worth it. 

  

When I say… "I am a Christian"  

I still feel the sting of pain.  

I have my share of heartaches   

So I call upon His name. 

  

When I say… "I am a Christian"  

I’m not holier than thou,  

I’m just a simple sinner  

Who received God’s good grace, somehow.

 

 

I agree..and I like this poem.

Leave a Reply

